Historic Preservation Excellence Award Categories


The Wisconsin Association of Historic Preservation Commissions is now accepting nominations for its 2019 Historic Preservation Excellence Awards.

Each year WAHPC issues Awards of Excellence at its Annual Meeting and Conference to deserving projects throughout the state. Please fill out an Award Nomination Form, print it out, and mail it by Friday, March 22, 2019, to the address listed on the nomination form. Be sure to attach a narrative description of the project, available photographs and copies of available supporting documentation. Please provide us contact information for your award nominee, so that we may contact successful awardees before the Annual Meeting and Conference. Award certificates will be presented at the conference and, if it is the awardee’s desire, at a suitable event in the awardee’s community.

Award categories are as follows:

Identification and designation.

This award would go to a historic preservation commission that sponsored a significant architectural or archaeological survey, the nomination of a property (or properties) to the State and National Register of Historic Places, or designation as a local landmark.


Economic development/Revitalization.

This award would go to a private non-profit group or historic preservation commission that used accepted preservation practices as tools in revitalizing an area or neighborhood.



This award would go to a private non-profit organization, historic preservation commission or individual for the significant restoration or rehabilitation of a local historic property.


Historic Preservation Commission.

This award would go to a historic preservation commission that through the exercise of its project review authority, made a significant difference in the outcome of a particular property or project.



This award would go to either a historic preservation commission, a private historic preservation organization or individual for its advocacy work that had a real and beneficial impact on the local community.


Fill out an Award Nomination Now

If you have any questions regarding the awards, please contact Arlan Kay.