Excellence Awards

Historic Preservation Excellence Awards

The Wisconsin Association of Historic Preservation Commissions is now accepting nominations for its Historic Preservation Excellence Awards.

Each year WAHPC issues Awards of Excellence at its Annual Meeting and Conference to deserving projects throughout the state. Be sure to include a narrative description of the project, available photographs (in jpg or jpeg format only), and copies of available supporting documentation. Please provide us contact information for your award nominee, so that we may contact successful awardees before the Annual Meeting and Conference.  Award certificate presentation to be announced.


Accepting 2025 Nominations!

Nominations must be received by March 31, 2025

The Award Categories

Identification and Designation

This award would go to a historic preservation commission that sponsored a significant architectural or archaeological survey, the nomination of a property (or properties) to the State and National Register of Historic Places, or designation as a local landmark.

Economic Redevelopment/Revitalization

This award would go to a private non-profit group or historic preservation commission that used accepted preservation practices as tools in revitalizing an area or district.


This award would go to a private non-profit organization, historic preservation commission or individual for the significant restoration or rehabilitation of a local historic property.

Historic Preservation Commission

This award would go to a historic preservation commission that, through the exercise of its project review authority, made a significant difference in the outcome of a particular property or project.


This award would go to either a historic preservation commission, a private historic preservation organization or individual for advocacy work that had a real and beneficial impact on the local community.

Awards will be presented at WAHPC’s Annual Meeting and Conference

Recent Projects and Designated Buildings